Skip to content

Custom Lamp Shade

March 1, 2011

I’ve had a few request lately for some custom shades and this one turned out particularly challenging. My initially response was “sure, I can do that!” Would I do this again? I don’t know. Using the same wood block, I printed three different colors layered over each other. Below is the layering process.
first color was an off white:
(It was a hard color to photograph.)

After that color dried, I printed a ochre color that layered over the cream:

Lastly, I printed a dark brown:

Oh, and here’s the wood block:

And finally the lamp shade:

One of the challenges was waiting for each color to dry before adding the next one. Another challenge was printing such a large piece of paper which was 20 1/2″ x 65″. The size of the shade is large ( 20″ height and 15″ diameter).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

